Home » FAQs » Car Accidents

What to Do After a Head-on Car Accident

What Is a Head-on Collision? Also called a frontal collision, a head-on car accident occurs when two cars, driving in opposite directions, crash into each other. Head-on collisions can be between two passenger cars, or between a car and another vehicle, like a motorcycle or commercial truck. A collision between a car and a tree,…

Read More

Common Questions About T-bone Car Wrecks

T-bone car accidents, also known as side-impact collisions or broadsides, are some of the most deadly crashes on Louisiana roads and highways. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), T-bone accidents account for nearly 20% of fatal collisions—more deadly than any other collision type. What exactly is a T-bone accident, and how common…

Read More

Can I Recover Damages If an Uninsured Driver Caused My Car Accident?

Louisiana requires all drivers to carry auto insurance policies that include uninsured motorist (UM) and underinsured motorist (UI) coverage. In most cases, drivers will have the same amount of UI/UM coverage as they do for bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage; however, policyholders can carry the bare minimum of $15,000. If an uninsured driver caused an…

Read More

Can I Receive Punitive Damages for My Car Accident Claim?

Louisiana courts reserve punitive damages for rare cases that involve willful harm or egregious negligence. Sometimes drunk driving accident victims receive punitive damages, but eligibility occurs on a case by case basis. Your car accident lawyer can examine the circumstances of your case and let you know if you should ask for punitive damages when…

Read More

What Is Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” Law?

To deter drivers from operating vehicles without the minimum amount of auto insurance, Louisiana has implemented a “No Pay, No Play” law. This law prohibits uninsured drivers from recovering damages when they suffer injuries due to another driver’s negligence. The law states that uninsured accident victims cannot recover the first $15,000 of damages for injuries.…

Read More

Do I Have to Take the First Settlement Offer After My Car Wreck?

No, you don’t. That is a trick the insurance companies will oftentimes use on people who don’t know their legal rights. They might extend an offer and give you a time limit to take the offer. In every state, there’s a statute of limitations or a prescription period for filing lawsuits. This law governs how…

Read More

How Much Will I Get for a Car Accident Injury?

Any experienced trial lawyer would be able to give you a general range of compensation that you can expect when you meet with them. It’s hard to answer that question with a number unless the lawyer knows about your case—remember, every case is different. We base the value of your case on our prior knowledge…

Read More

Should I Get a Car Wreck Lawyer?

Any time you’re faced with a legal situation and are unsure of your rights, you should get a lawyer. For example, if you’ve been involved in a slip and fall accident or a car wreck, what should you do when insurance contacts you? You might not know all of your legal rights. It’s very important,…

Read More

Do I Need a Car Wreck Attorney?

In short, Yes. In all cases, insurance companies are out to do one thing: deny or diminish your claim. Hiring a personal injury attorney will help you advocate for your interests, rather than the insurance company’s. A personal injury attorney will be able to properly defend and actually prosecute your case, avoiding tricks and traps…

Read More

How Much Will It Cost Me to Hire a Car Wreck Attorney?

Most personal injury attorneys will handle your case for free. Upfront, you don’t have to pay any money. At Gordon McKernan Injury Attorneys, we have a contingency fee contract, which means the attorney doesn’t get paid unless you recover money. In other words, our recovery is contingent upon your recovery. At our law firm, we…

Read More