COVID-19 LOUISIANA UPDATE: While the coronavirus continues to present a danger to our community, we are complying with Louisiana State Law and Governor John Bel Edwards' recommendations and have closed our physical offices. During this time, we are still available to help our existing clients and any new, potential clients by virtual meeting, phone, text and email. Stay safe and God bless.
Learn More about Our Business Continuity Plan
Louisiana Passes Laws to Help Reduce Drunk Driving Accidents
Posted on Aug 1 , 2012
Thanks to education and law enforcement efforts, the amount of alcohol-related automobile accidents is declining in Louisiana. According to the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission, the amount of people injured because of alcohol-related crashes in the state has decreased by 17 percent in the last five years, and there has been a 34 percent decrease in the amount of people who have been killed in these accidents. However, there is more work to be done, experts say, because Louisiana still ranks in the top ten when it comes to accident-related automobile fatalities. In order to help solve this problem, state legislators have recently passed laws designed to crack down on drunk drivers. Under these new laws:
- Someone who has been convicted of two DWIs in one year will be sentenced to 30 days in prison and be required to attend a substance abuse program
- Law enforcement officers will be allowed to use multiple tests in order to determine if a driver is impaired
- Those who have three DWIs will be required to install an ignition interlock system in their vehicle and will have restrictions put on their driver's license for 45 days