Louisiana Laws on Texting & Cell Phone Use While Driving
In Louisiana, texting and driving is punishable by a $500 fine after the first incident. After any additional offenses, drivers are susceptible to a $1000 fine and having their license suspended for 60 days.
Underaged drivers are also prohibited from texting while driving, and they can be punished with a $250 fine for the first offense. Following offenses can garner consequences of up to $500 fines and a suspension of license for 60 days.
Fines for both adults and minor drivers are doubled if a car accident took place while texting and driving.
Texting while driving is irresponsible and should be avoided at all costs. Using a cell phone in any way can wait until the car is fully stopped. In the event of an emergency, drivers may use the calling function of their phones. Even then, they should consider the immediate danger that exists and whether using a phone would increase any potential risk of danger.
Injured? Get Gordon! Get it Done!
Texting and Driving Car Accident Statistics
Not only is texting and driving extremely dangerous, but it is also against the law. Violating this law can result in car accidents, fatalities, or other losses. The following statistics show just how harmful texting and driving can be.
- Distracted driving claimed 2,841 lives in 2018, including passengers, pedestrians, and drivers. 
- More than 1,000 people are injured every day due to a distracted driver.
- Sending or reading a text takes your eyes off the road for an average of 5 seconds. 
- At 55 mph, texting while driving is like driving the length of an entire football field with your eyes closed. 
- For children, youth, and young adults aged 8–24, motor vehicle crashes are the primary cause of death, with teens having the highest proportion of distraction-related fatalities. 
Texting While Driving is as Dangerous as Driving Drunk
According to national statistics, a person who is talking on the phone is four times more likely to get in a car accident than a driver with no distractions. When drivers text while operating their vehicles, they have a reaction time similar to drunk drivers with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08%. This type of distracted driving can have serious repercussions, like making fatal mistakes on the road.
Do You Need a Lawyer for a Texting and Driving Car Accident?
If you’ve been involved in a texting and driving car wreck, the right car accident attorney can help to give you a higher chance at success. The lawyers at Gordon McKernan Injury Attorneys have plenty of experience with these cases, and we are well-equipped to be your legal counsel after a car wreck.
You can trust the Gordon McKernan team to put our best effort in representing you. Whether you think a car accident with a texting driver caused injuries or made existing ones worse, we have the ability to prove it. Our Hammond car accident lawyers will use their ample experience to support and defend you. If necessary, we can even present your case to a jury.
What Compensation Could You Recover in a Texting and Driving Accident Claim?
The amount of money received after a car accident claim is dependent on your injuries and their severity. If you have suffered a personal injury due to a texting and driving car wreck, you may be able to receive compensation for the following:
- Medical expenses
- Loss of income
- Pain and suffering
- Punitive damages
- Wrongful death damages
Contact an Experienced Car Accident Attorney in Hammond
If you have been involved in an accident with a texting driver, you need a lawyer. Contact us today for a free and confidential consultation. We proudly serve clients from Hammond and throughout the state of Louisiana. Call Gordon McKernan Injury Attorneys at 985-888-8888.