In most cases, yes. If you’ve been in a car accident anywhere in Louisiana, you must immediately report it to local authorities if anyone is injured, dead, or at least $500 of property damage occurred. In Louisiana, failure to follow these accident reporting requirements can result in up to a $100 fine and up to 60 days in jail.
Additionally, it’s necessary to file a written report with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPSC). You have 24 hours to file the report if more than $100 of damages occurred, someone was injured, or someone died from the accident.
GET HELP NOW!