Louisiana Hit & Run Accident Attorneys
If you’re involved in an accident, your day is most likely ruined. The only thing that can make it worse is if the other driver leaves the scene, in what’s known as a hit and run car accident. Leaving the scene after an accident is a crime in Louisiana, so it’s worthwhile to know your rights and what to expect if it happens to you.
What is a Hit and Run Accident?
Louisiana law defines a hit-and-run as
“the intentional failure of the driver of a vehicle involved in or causing any accident, to stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident, to give his identity, and to render reasonable aid.“
This means that, when involved in any kind of traffic accident, drivers are required to stop their vehicles, tell the other people who they are, and help if it’s reasonable. If a driver neglects these duties and departs the scene of the accident, they’re immediately guilty of a hit-and-run.
The state can press charges, but if you’re the victim of the accident, you can also press civil charges to recover compensation for your injuries, pain and suffering, and property damage.
Click to Contact Our Louisiana Hit & Run Accident Attorneys Today!
Louisiana Legal Penalties for Hit and Run Drivers
In Louisiana, there are two classes of hit-and-run crimes: misdemeanor and felony hit and run.
Misdemeanor Hit and Run
If a driver commits a hit-and-run where there is no death or serious bodily injury, they will be fined up to $500 or imprisoned for up to 6 months. If there’s evidence that the driver was using drugs or alcohol before the incident, or if those contributed to the accident, they will be fined up to $500, and imprisoned between 10 days and 6 months.
Felony Hit and Run
A hit and run crime can become a felony requiring a fine of up to $5,000 and up to 10 years in prison when someone is killed or suffers “serious bodily injury” from the accident, and the driver knew or should’ve known so.
Finally, the penalty is between 5–20 years in prison when someone is killed or seriously injured in a hit-and-run and the driver
- knew or must have known that their vehicle was involved, or that their operation of the vehicle was the direct cause of, an accident
- was previously convicted of
- drunk or drugged driving more than twice within 10 years of this offense
- vehicular homicide
- first degree vehicular negligent injuring
Administrative Penalties for Hit and Run Cases
In addition to the criminal penalties listed above, most drivers found guilty of a hit-and-run will also have their driver’s license suspended or revoked for up to two years. After that time, the at-fault driver will have to pay a fee to have their license reinstated, on top of any other administrative fees.
Injuries from a Hit and Run Accident
The injuries you sustain from a hit-and-run accident will depend on the type of accident it is and its severity. Your injuries could run the gamut from small bruises and scrapes to traumatic brain injury, neck or back injuries, or the loss of a loved one. The wreck could also leave you with thousands in property damage, especially if your car is totaled.
Even after the wreck, you could be left with mounting medical bills, an inability to work, or a lasting disability. You deserve recompense for the injuries you’ve sustained, as well as the emotional trauma and financial hardship you’ve suffered. The compassionate hit and run car accident lawyers at Gordon McKernan Injury Attorneys can help you get just that.
Recovering Damages from the Liable Party in a Hit and Run Accident
If you’re the victim of a hit and run, you might be unsure of where to turn for relief. Depending on the type of wreck and how you were impacted, you could be injured, in pain, and possibly disabled. How can you hold the liable party responsible if they’ve fled the scene?
If you can, try to collect all the evidence you can at the scene. If you have a dash camera, that footage will be valuable evidence, as well as any camera footage from CCTV cameras in the area of your wreck. Investigators can also collect evidence such as tire treads, your description of the vehicle, and witness testimony.
How a Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Can Help Your Case
When you’ve been the victim of a hit and run accident, call an experienced Louisiana car accident lawyer at Gordon McKernan Injury Attorneys today. We’ll be able to help you identify the hit and run driver by examining the evidence from the scene and helping investigators put the pieces of your case together. We can also handle administrative matters such as ensuring legal paperwork is filed on time, and if it’s necessary, we can represent you in court.
Call Gordon Mckernan Injury Attorneys Today
You don’t need to face the traumatic aftermath of a hit-and-run accident alone. Call Gordon McKernan Injury Attorneys today at 888.501.7888 for a free consultation about your case. When you hire us, we’ll do everything in our power to make sure you get the compensation you’re owed for your injuries. We genuinely care about each of our clients—that’s why we stand by the G Guarantee— we won’t charge you a dime until we win your case.
Louisiana Hit & Run Accident Attorney Near Me
Areas in Louisiana We Serve
How It Works
Filing a claim with Gordon Mckernan Injury Attorneys is easy! Simply follow the steps below.
Get Your Free Consultation
An Attorney Will Reach Out