How Long After a Hurricane Can You File a Claim?

Home » FAQs » How Long After a Hurricane Can You File a Claim?

The timeframe for filing a claim after a hurricane can vary depending on the insurance policy and the insurance company. Generally, most insurance policies require policyholders to report any damage or loss as soon as reasonably possible. Delaying the filing of a claim can result in a longer processing time.

In Louisiana, the timeframe for filing a hurricane claim can vary depending on the type of policy you have. Homeowners’ insurance policies typically have a one-year statute of limitations for filing a claim, while flood insurance policies have a 60-day deadline. It’s vital to understand the different requirements for filing claims under these policies to ensure that you file your claim within the appropriate time frame.

The length of time it takes to process an insurance claim after a hurricane in Louisiana can also vary depending on several factors, such as the extent of the damage, the complexity of the claim, and the number of claims that the insurance company is processing. The Louisiana Department of Insurance recommends that insurance companies respond to claims within 30 days and provide payment within 60 days.

Keep in mind it’s not uncommon for claims to take longer to process, especially if there is extensive damage or if there is a large volume of claims. Policyholders should be prepared to work with their insurance company and provide any necessary documentation to ensure that their claim is processed as quickly and accurately as possible.

If you, unfortunately, experienced damage from a hurricane, we want you to know that you’re not alone. At Gordon McKernan Injury Attorneys, we can help you begin your process of recovery. Just give us a call at 888.501.7888 if you have any questions about your hurricane damage claim.